Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Spotlight: The De Monteforte Brothers Series by Danelle Harmon

The De Monteforte Brothers Series by Danelle Harmon

Publisher & Release Date: Self-published, 2012

Time and setting: 1775 - 1778 England  

Genre: Historical Georgian Romance

Length: Each novel is full length

Heat Level: 2 Flames

Rating: 5 Gold Crowns

The Wild One

FROM NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR DANELLE HARMON comes this # 1 in Amazon Kindle store download and runaway international bestseller! (Originally published by Avon Books)

"The bluest of blood, the boldest of hearts; the de Montforte brothers will take your breath away."

England, 1776: Lord Gareth de Montforte is known as an irresponsible rake with a heart of gold. When he takes a bullet for boldly thwarting a stagecoach robbery, he is stunned to discover that the beautiful young woman he has heroically rescued, Juliet Paige, is his deceased brother's American fiancée, accompanied by her infant daughter. Despite his brother the duke's refusal to acknowledge Juliet, Gareth is determined to do right by the courageous woman who crossed an ocean to give her baby her rightful name. But Juliet is wary of marrying this black sheep aristocrat, even while she is hopelessly charmed by the dashing devil. Never has she met anyone who embraces life so thoroughly, who makes her laugh, who loves her so well. And, even when it seems the odds are against them, Juliet has absolute faith that Gareth will go beyond the call of duty, risking his life itself to give her and her daughter a home -- and a love that will last a lifetime.

Book 1

I thoroughly enjoyed The Wild One, even though this is the second time I read it. While the story is fantastic, filled with deep emotion and passion, it is also a tale of a high-spirited young man’s journey to accepting and embracing adulthood. It’s a story where the woman is truly the making of the man.
I did not care for the narrator. I think his voice is too mature. After all the hero is only 23 years old. However, he does a good job of getting the feelings across to the listener. 

If you enjoy a rollercoaster ride of emotions from laughs to tears, then you will love this exciting, well-written Georgian romance. I can’t wait to listen to the rest of the books in this incredible series.

The Beloved One

In this second installment of her breathtaking De Montforte Brothers series, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Danelle Harmon introduces us to Englishman Lord Charles de Montforte, who awakens in the tender care of an American beauty after being wounded in battle. Amy Leighton has long wished for someone special to enter her life and take her away from a cruel, unloving step-family, but the handsome stranger is from an enemy land ... and he's sworn to love another. A 1775-era Cinderella story sure to enthrall!

Book 2

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to The Beloved One. This one is filled with deep emotion, and it has a tortured hero, my personal favorite. The romance is compelling, the plot is well-developed, and the characters are unforgettable.

While the narrator's voice is a bit too mature, his performance enhances the deep emotion of the characters, and he gives each one a distinct voice tone. 

If you have not read Danelle Harmon's De Monforte Brothers series, I highly recommend this awesome, emotionally-charged series, and The Beloved One in particular.

The Defiant One

Blessed — or perhaps cursed — with a fiery temper, a strong will, and a blatant disregard for his brother’s wishes, Lord Andrew de Montforte's only desire is to be left alone. But after being caught in a compromising position with tempting Lady Celsiana Blake, the brilliant and brooding scientist/inventor is forced into marriage in this fast-paced, jocular tale in which a supporting cast of beloved pets, the warm and eccentric de Montforte brothers, and the Machiavellian influence of the mighty duke of Blackheath once again play a role...

Book 3

The Defiant One truly earns its name. Book 3 of the De Monteforte Brothers series is a story again filled with high emotion and passion, but this one is edgier than the first two. Andrew is an inventor and appears to be angry with everyone, especially his immensely controlling eldest brother, the duke.
Danelle Harmon certainly knows how to write a tortured hero, and Andrew fits this archetype perfectly. Her hero in The Defiant One is more than a match for him. She is feisty and determined to love him out of his defiance with her gentle touches and unconditional love.

The narrator is again able to bring so much emotion to his writing that I forget that his voice is too mature for the characters.

This is another great addition to the epic saga of the four De Montforte brothers. Now on to the next and final book is this fantastic series!

The Wicked One

When the powerful Lucien de Montforte, the Duke of Blackheath, arrives home to find a dangerous and vengeful woman waiting for him in his bed with pistol in hand, the master manipulator never dreams that he has finally met his match. But thanks to his scheming family's successful attempts to force a wedding, the wicked and wily duke finds himself entangled in a web of his own making in this spectacular conclusion to Danelle Harmon's critically acclaimed de Montforte Brothers series!

Book 4

What an outstanding end to this remarkable series! Lucien, the Duke of Blackheath has met his match in Eva de la Mouriere. She is the only woman who can bring this arrogant and manipulate duke to his knees, and she does this repeatedly from the first page to the last.

While Eva took a while for me to warm up to her character, by the end of the book, I grew to love her. She is a mix of cynical woman—betrayed by her father at a tender age, and then later betrayed by her first husband—and innocence at the same time, especially in sexual matters. Her character is complex, to say the least and marvelously entertaining.

I struggled with the narrator’s voice tone for Eva, but his interpretation of her emotions is fantastic. Now his voice for the duke is perfect in this one, his tone shows the arrogance and controlling man with all his faults.

The conclusion of the De Montforte series is perfection, and I am so glad I discovered Ms. Harmon. I love the depth of emotion she is able to put in her books. I will definitely read future romances by her. If you are looking for a series that will hold your imagination from the first book to the last, then you will not want to miss out on this marvelous, well-written series. Happy reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment