Friday, May 1, 2015

Carried Forward by Hope by Ginny Dye
(The Bregdan Chronicles Book 6)

Published & Release Date: A Voice in the World Publishing, May 5, 2014

Time and setting: 1865 Virginia

Genre: Historical Fiction Romance

Length: 655 pages

Heat Level: 1 Sweet Heart

Rating: 4 Gold Crowns

The Civil War has ended, but the struggle to rebuild America is just beginning. 

Description: America struggles to rebuild in the aftermath of Lincoln’s assassination. Promises will be broken, and everyone you have grown to love will be asked to pay a high price to make freedom for the slaves more than just a mockery. 

Robert fights to emerge from the darkness as Carrie risks everything to bring him back to her. 

Moses is offered the opportunity of a lifetime, while Rose returns to her roots with a dream that will change everything. 

Matthew is caught up in the worst maritime disaster in American history, while Jeremy discovers the cost of embracing his true heritage. 

Thomas and Abby are surprised by a future they never dreamed was possible. 

Volume #6 of The Bregdan Chronicles continues the sweeping historical saga that now encompasses the first year of Reconstruction following the Civil War. 

Buy Link:

Add to Goodreads:

Vikki’s Musings

This is the sixth book in the Bregdan Chronicles Series. I have grown to really care about the characters in these amazing books, and Carried Forward by Hope is no exception. This one gives me a glimpse of what the Reconstruction period immediately following the end of the Civil War may have been like for the freed slaves and the white men and women that wanted to ensure their continued freedom. This was not an easy task to say the least.

Carrie and her friends are still in shock over the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. She fears that this will not bode well for many of her friends. Lincoln would have made sure the government helped the freed slaves find jobs and a life with meaning. President Johnson is another matter. As an ex-slave owner and a man who fought for the right to own slaves, Johnson is bound to stand with the plantation owner in their desire to keep the black population under their control. It soon becomes clear that their worries are justified.

Johnson make it easy for the southern states to rejoin the union with very few changes in leadership allowing these men to bring forth black codes, which severely curtailed the newly freed slaves ability to integrate with white population. In essence, they were still under the thumb of all the plantation owners as if slavery still existed. The Republican congress was not in session and Johnson ran amuck to say the least until congress would reconvene in January 1866.

Carrie fights to bring Robert back from the deep depression he is in while he slowly recovers from his near death experience at the end of the war. She travels to Maryland to convince the family that helped him after he was injured at Antietam. The family was hiding out to avoid having their children apprenticed. They agree to come to Cromwell Plantation and little Amber works her magic. Robert begins to get over his desolation and is soon restored to full health.

While I enjoyed the fascinating look at the history immediately following the end of the Civil War in Carried Forward by Hope, I struggled with some of the plot points, especially the one with Janie and Clifford. There was just too much of a shift in his personality for my tastes. Again, other than Clifford and a bit of Robert’s character, most of the other characters do not show any flaws. For me, that is unrealistic.

I do enjoy Amber’s character a great deal, and I was glad to see she has returned to the plotline. In fact, I like her brother Clint as well and feel they help give this book light among all the darkness. I am also glad to have Janie back with Carrie and the others.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed Carried Forward by Hope and look forward to reading Glimmers of Change, the next book in this incredible series. If you want to see a different side to what happened during this troubled time in American history, I highly recommend reading this series. I do want to mention that you need to read this series in order because each book picks up where the last one ends. Happy reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment